STATE OF MINNESOTA
IN SUPREME COURT
(C9-81~1206
AMENDED ORDER AMENDING THE RULES OF
THE SUPREME COURT ON LAWYER
REGISTRATION
By an order dated July 22, 2008, this court promulgated amendments to the Rules
of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration that changed registration fees.
Inadvertent errors were made in the amendments to Rule 2.
NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the attached corrected
amendments to the Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration be, and
the sam“e‘ are, prescribed and promulgated to be effective with the October 1, 2008

registration cycle deadline and shall expire with the July 1, 2009 registration cycle

deadline.
Dated: July 9%, 2008 BY THE COURT:
OFFICE OF
APPELLATE COURTS Alan C.Page /
Associate Justice
JUL 28 2008
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RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT ON LAWYER REGISTRATION

RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE

A.  Required Fee.

In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission
to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, to defray the expenses of administering
continuing legal education, to provide an adequate client security fund, to help fund
legal services programs, and to help fund a lawyers assistance program, each lawyer
and each judge must pay to the Lawyer Registration Office an annual registration fee.

B. Active Statuses,

Each lawyer and judge must pay an annual registration fee of $2295217 or such
lesser sum as is set forth in the following sections.

1. Active Status -~ Income Less Than $25,000.

A lawyer or judge on active status who certifies that the lawyer’s or
judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less
than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of $204$192.

2. Active Status - Lawyers on Full-Time Military Duty.

A lawyer or judge on full-time duty in the armed forces of the United
States must pay an annual registration fee of $118.

3. Active Status - Lawyers on Full-Time Military Duty - Income Less

Than $25,000.

A lawyer or judge on full-time duty in the armed forces of the United
States who certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources,
excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an

annual registration fee of $93.



4, Active Status - Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years.

A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law fewer than three
years in each and every licensing jurisdiction, including Minnesota, must pay an
annual registration fee of-$108$96.

5. Active Status - Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years -

Income Less Than $25,000.

A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law fewer than three
years in each and every licensing jurisdiction, including Minnesota, and certifies
that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the income
of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of
C. Inactive Statuses.

1. Inactive Status - Qut-of-State.

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or
before the date the lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the
lawyer or judge (i) is a permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is
currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in Minnesota, and
(iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in Minnesota must pay an annual
registration fee of $198178,

2. Inactive Status - Qut-of-State ~ Income Less Than $25,000.

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or
before the date the lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the
lawyer or judge (i) is a permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii} is
currently in good standing, (iii} does not hold judicial office in Minnesota, (iv) is
not engaged in the practice of law in Minnesota, and (v) certifies that the

lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a

[



spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of
$165153.

3. Inactive Status - Minnesota.

A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the
date the lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) isa
resident of the State of Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not
hold judicial office in this state, and (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in
this state must pay an annual registration fee of $198$178.

4, Inactive Status - Minnesota - Income Less Than $25,000.

A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the
date the lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is a
resident of the State of Minnesota, (it) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not
hold judicial office in this state, (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this
state, and (v) certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources,
excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an
annual registration fee of $365%153.
ok
D.  Allocation of Fees.

Fees paid pursuant to this rule are allocated according to the following schedule:
(1)  Payments of $229$217 are allocated as follows:

° $23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

° $6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

° $122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

° $12§0 to the Client Security Fund (no fee collected October 1, 2008

through July 1, 2009 registration deadline cycles);

° $50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and



@)

)

(4)

$16 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.

Payments of $2048192 are allocated as follows:

@

$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

$1260 to the Client Security Fund (no fee collected October 1, 2008
through July 1, 2009 registration deadline cycles);

$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$16 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.

Payments of $190$178 are allocated as follows:

$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

$3230 to the Client Security Fund (no fee collected October 1, 2008
through July 1, 2009 registration deadline cycles),

$50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$16 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.

Payments of $365$153 are allocated as follows:

L

$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

%6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

$32%0 to the Client Security Fund (no fee collected October 1, 2008
through July 1, 2009 registration deadline cycles);

$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and
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(8)

$16 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.

Payments of $118 are allocated as follows:
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$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

$5 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

$50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$16 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.

Payments of $93 are allocated as follows:

o
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$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

$5 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;
$24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;
$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$16 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.

Payments of $108$96 are allocated as follows:
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$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

$1240 to the Client Security Fund (no fee collected October 1, 2008
through July 1, 2009 registration deadline cycles);

$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$16 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.

Payments of $95-50$83.50are allocated as follows:

$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;
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$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

$1250 to the Client Security Fund (no fee collected October 1, 2008
through July 1, 2009 registration deadline cycles);

$12.50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$16 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.



